Submission Calls
Submission Call: TSSF Journal

Deadline: April 30. You can now submit to the TSSF Journal. TSSF Journal seeks well-crafted stories about Africa, Africans, and African issues in all genres from writers of African descents or those associated with Africa. Send your poetry, fiction, and creative non-fiction to journal@singlestory[dot]org. Email title should be: TSSF Journal: [Work Name], [category]. You can email in a 4,000 words maximum non-fiction piece, [ … ]

Granta Submission Call
Koffi Addo Writivism Prize for Non-Fiction
Submit to the RadioBook Rwanda project by Huza Press

 Deadline: January 25, 2018. Huza Press calls on Rwandan writers to submit short stories for its RadioBook Rwanda project. Also, it invites both Rwandan and Kenyan artist to submit art pieces for the project. Huze Press will publish new writing and new artworks in collaboration with Kwani Trust and No Bindings. The proposed RadioBook Rwanda book series will publish original artworks and three short [ … ]

araba Magazine Call for Submissions
Artist In Residency (AIR): Rockefeller Foundation’s Bellagio Residency Program
Artist In Residency (AIR) Programme: Emerging – Mid Career Artists Residency

 Deadline: Dec. 16, 2017 The Africa Centre opens its call for the 2017 Artists In Residency program. Usually, the residency consists of a four-week stay at the Bellagio Center on Lake Como, Italy. This year, it opens up the residency in Australia, Brazil, Spain, Italy and the United States, with varying residency lengths. Africa Centre seeks fiction and non-fiction writers, playwrights, poets, video/filmmakers, composers, [ … ]

The 2018 Kalemba Short Story Prize
Awele Creative Trust - ACT
Submit to the Brunel University International African Poetry Prize

Deadline: Dec. 1, 2017. Brunel University and Commonwealth Writers are sponsoring the £3,000 Brunel University International African Poetry Prize. The annual poetry prize aims to develop, celebrate and promote African poetry. The prize started four years ago in 2013 with Warsan Shire emerging as the first winner. And Romeo Oriogun won last year’s award. To be eligible, you must be a poet who [ … ]

Africa Writes 2018 – Call for Ideas
International Submission