International SubmissionResidencySubmission Calls

Closed: 2016 African Writer’s Residency Award (AWRA)

African Writer’s Residency Award (AWRA)
Deadline: June 30, 2016 (6 p.m. CET)

The African Writer’s Residency Award is awarded by the Sylt Foundation and the Goethe-Institut. The award offers a two-month residency to contemporary African lit. writers. Also, the winner will receive a stipend of €1,500, return travel tickets and visa fees.

The Award is open to published writers of fiction, poetry, prose, and plays. Applicants must be African writers, whether living in Africa or elsewhere. However, self-published writers are not eligible. Also, writers must have been published in English or have their work translated into English.

Consequently, the winner will work on a writing project. The residency aims to provide an opportunity for the writer to develop ideas and to do research related to the project.

The residency provides:

  • an uninterrupted period of writing
  • a quiet space suitable for contemplation and research
  • opportunity tto leverage your artistic profile
  • and writers and artists networking.

African Writer’s Residency Award Guideline

To apply, submit a proposal of the project you intend to work on. Also, submit the project synopsis and a 10-page excerpt of a previously published work. Your excerpt should state the publishers or where your play was staged.

In addition, your submission should also include a copy of your valid passport conforming Schengen visa requirements. Also, include a CV, a 500-word profile, a letter of reference, and a portrait photo. Your application should be written in English.

Submit your entries and direct enquiries to AWRA@syltfoundation.com.

Previous winners include Mildred Barya (Uganda), Nii Parkes (GB/Ghana) and Chika Unigwe (Nigeria).


Update: Goethe-Institut & Sylt Foundation announced Abubakar Adam Ibrahim as the winner on Aug. 17

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *