FictionLiterary prizeNon FictionPoetrySubmission Calls

2017 Wasafiri New Writing Prize now open

2017 Wasafiri New Writing Prize now open
Deadline: July 14 (5 p.m. GMT).

For the 2017 Wasafiri New Writing Prize, Wasafiri welcomes poetry, fiction, and life writing (nonfiction) submissions from writers who haven’t published a complete book. It launched the Wasafiri New Writing Prize in 2009 to support new writers of all ages, genders, nationalities and background.

To enter, you have to pay an entry fee to apply for this writing prize. The entry fees are £6.00 for one category, £10.00 for two, and £15.00 for three categories. In addition, you are to email your already filled-in entry form, your work, and the entry fee to wasafiriprize@open.ac.uk.

But, first, you need the email address above and request for an entry form. Wasafiri will then email you an entry form. Please do not send your work with adhering to this process. Wasafiri will only accept entries that are accompanied by an entry form.

Consequently, It will award £300 to the winner of each category and the work will be published in Wasafiri. Direct all inquiries to the email above to, addressed to the Editor.

Chair Susheila Nasta MBE, Sabrina Mahfouz, Andrea Stuart, and Boyd Tonkin will judge this year’s submissions.

You should read up on previous shortlisted stories and past winners on the Wasafiri website. For example, Uschi Gatward, Amaal Said, and Louise Kennedy won the prize for fiction, poetry and life writing respectively in 2015. Also, Akwaeke Emezi, Richard Georges, and Sarala Estruch were shortlisted too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *