Category: Literary prize

Submission Call: Mabati Cornell Kiswahili

Deadline: May 31, 2017. Cornell University awards $15,000 for its Mabati Cornell Kiswahili Prize yearly. The prize honors writers with unpublished manuscripts, or recently published books (within two years) written in Kiswahili. So, you can submit your manuscript or books in any of the fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and graphic novels categories. The $15,000 is divided into $5,000 for 1st place fiction, $5,000 for 1st place poetry, $3,000 for [ … ]

2017 Wasafiri New Writing Prize now open

Deadline: July 14 (5 p.m. GMT). For the 2017 Wasafiri New Writing Prize, Wasafiri welcomes poetry, fiction, and life writing (nonfiction) submissions from writers who haven’t published a complete book. It launched the Wasafiri New Writing Prize in 2009 to support new writers of all ages, genders, nationalities and background. To enter, you have to pay an entry fee to apply for this [ … ]

2017 Koffi Addo Writivism Prize for Non-Fiction

Deadline: March 31 (midnight GMT). CACE now accepts submission for its 2017 Koffi Addo Writivism Prize for creative non-fiction. The annual prize awards emerging African writers who have not had a book published. Writers must also be resident in an African country to be eligible. Submit your 2,500 – 3,500 words entry as an attachment to info@writivism.com with the email titled as Koffi Addo Prize. And then, [ … ]

Caine Prize 2017 Open

Deadline: Jan. 31, 2017. Caine Prize 2017 only accepts fictional short stories submission between 3,000 and 10,000 words from publishers on already published pieces. Publishers send in six original published copies of each entry to either: Lizzy Attree                                                [ … ]

2016 £5,000 Troubadour International Poetry Prize

Deadline: Tuesday, Jun 21, 2016 Put together by the Coffee-House Poetry, the 2016 Troubadour International Poetry Prize is open for entry. Poets of any nationality, from any country, aged over 18 years may apply. Judges’ decision is final. The judges are Glyn Maxwell (b. Welwyn Garden City) and Jane Yeh (b. New Jersey, ed. Harvard University). Troubadour International Poetry Prize Submission Guideline Poems must be written in English. Also, they [ … ]

2016 Wasafiri New Writing Prize now open!

The 2016 Wasafiri New Writing Prize is now open to any nationality and any age group. The competition is open to anyone who has not published a complete book in the category entered. Submissions are welcome in three categories: Poetry, Fiction and Life Writing. Winners will receive £300 and their entries will be published in Wasafiri. To submit to the 2016 Wasafiri New Writing Prize, fill in the entry form (pdf/doc) [ … ]

The Etisalat Prize for Literature now Open

The Etisalat Prize for Literature opened on June 1 and will be opened till Aug 31, 2016.  The Etisalat Prize for Literature celebrates new writers of African citizenship whose first fiction book (over 30,000 words) was published in the last twenty four (24) months. For the purposes of this definition, first book means first printed production in book form of [ … ]

Deborah Rogers Foundation’s Writers’ Award

Deborah Rogers Foundation awards £10,000 to a first-time writer whose submission demonstrates literary talent and who needs financial support to complete his or her work. Your submissions should be 20,000 to 30,000 words of a work in progress, either fiction or non-fiction. Your in progress work must not be under option or contract. Applications are only open to writers who have not previously published a [ … ]

2015 ‎Etisalat Prize for Literature‬ Longlist‬ Revealed

Etisalat, today announced the longlist for the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature. This year’s longlist of nine books have been chosen from a field of over 100 titles submitted from across the continent. The longlist for the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature: Ifeoluwapo Adeniyi (Nigeria), On the Bank of the River Penny Busetto (South Africa), The Story of Anna P, [ … ]

Commonwealth Writers

Commonwealth Writers inspires, develops and connects writers in a range of disciplines. Activities take place in Commonwealth countries, but  community is global. The competition brings stories from new and emerging voices, often from countries with little or no publishing infrastructure, to the attention of an international audience. The Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000-5,000 [ … ]

The Caine Prize

The Caine Prize is awarded to a work (a short story) by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere. (Please refer to the rules for further details about criteria for entry). The Prize is named in celebration of the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker plc, who was Chairman of the ‘Africa 95’ arts festival in [ … ]