Category: manuscript

Submit to the SI Leeds Literary Prize

Deadline: April 30, 2018. A biennial prize, the SI Leeds Literary Prize honors unpublished fiction by Black and Asian women resident in the UK aged 18+. Soroptimist International of Leeds created and runs the SI Leeds Literary Prize. Submit an unpublished novel or collections of short stories of any genre of no less than 30,000 words. Please do not submit memoirs, biographies and autobiographies. And ensure that [ … ]

Pan Macmillan South Africa Accepting Manuscript Submissions

Open: Nov. 20-24, 2017. As a general rule, Pan Macmillan South Africa does not accept unsolicited manuscripts. However, it will open a submission window from Nov. 20 to Nov. 24, 2017. Submit manuscripts that focus on general fiction, literary fiction, general non-fiction and memoir (bio or autobiography). Pan Macmillan South Africa does not accept short story collections, poetry, plays and children’s books. It believes [ … ]

Manuscript Call: Graywolf Press Africa Prize

Deadline: Oct. 31, (12 midnight, CST). The Graywolf Press Africa Prize will award an African author primarily residing in Africa with $12,000 advance and publication by Graywolf Press. A. Igoni Barrett and other Graywolf editors will judge the prize. Graywolf Press will ensure that the winning book becomes available in major markets in African countries. The Graywolf Press Africa Prize is for writers with no [ … ]

2017 Morland Writing Scholarships for African Writers

Deadline: Oct. 31, 2017 Annually, the Miles Morland Foundation (MMF) awards a small number of Morland Writing Scholarships to African writers. The Foundation desires to help selected Scholars produce the first draft of their completed book. It opens the scholarship to anyone born or whose parents were born in Africa. Also, Scholars must write in English. Do note that only published writers can apply.  Scholars writing [ … ]

Submission Call: Dinaane Debut Fiction Award

Deadline: May 31, 2017. Jacana Media calls for submissions, written in English, for its 2017 Dinaane Debut Fiction Award. Previously known as the European Union Literary Award, the Dinaane Debut Fiction Award has unearthed many talents in the past 13 years. According to Jacana Media, books published under this award have reflected the many strands of conversation that are woven [ … ]

Pitch to Jacana Media

Pitch to Jacana Media Deadline: July 14, 2017. You can now pitch to Jacana Media. Like many publishers, it receives a large number of submissions of unsolicited manuscripts every week. This means hours spent wading through many emails as we try to give every author feedback on their work. Writers often try to arrange meetings with publishers, convinced that meeting the publisher in [ … ]

Submission Call: Mabati Cornell Kiswahili

Deadline: May 31, 2017. Cornell University awards $15,000 for its Mabati Cornell Kiswahili Prize yearly. The prize honors writers with unpublished manuscripts, or recently published books (within two years) written in Kiswahili. So, you can submit your manuscript or books in any of the fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and graphic novels categories. The $15,000 is divided into $5,000 for 1st place fiction, $5,000 for 1st place poetry, $3,000 for [ … ]

Anasoma Writing Contest

Deadline: April 6, 12 a.m. EAT. For the Anasoma Writing Contest, AMKA seeks original, unpublished content that inspires and promotes empowerment of Kenyan girls and women. Note, only Kenyans can enter the Anasoma Writing Contest. Five winners will receive $1,000 each and get published digitally and in print. To participate, send in a 500-word pitch to anasoma@amka.or.ke. You can pitch a book, comic, biography, etc. Your [ … ]

Closed: 2017 Sanlam Prize for Youth Literature

Deadline: Oct. 7, 2016. Presented by Tafelberg Publishing, the Sanlam Prize for Youth Literature seeks to develop high quality literature for teenage readers (ages 12-18). The competition is only open to South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, and Swaziland citizens. You can submit your writings in one of the six language categories: English, Afrikaans, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Nguni and Sotho. Each category will have two prizes: R12,000 [ … ]