2016 The Nigeria Prize for Literature Shortlist

Nigeria LNG Limited 2016 Nigeria Prize for Literature

Since its inception in 2004, Nigeria LNG Limited has sponsored The Nigeria Prize for Literature. The prize brings Nigerian authors to the public’s attention and celebrates their excellence. As a result, Nigeria LNG Limited awards the prize to only Nigerian writers. Although initially a $20,000 win, the prize’s monetary reward since has been raised to $100,000 since 2011.

The prize rotates around the four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama, and children’s literature. This year’s competition is for prose fiction.

The 2016 The Nigeria Prize for Literature shortlist includes:

  1. Chika Unigwe, Night Dancer
  2. Ogochukwu Promise, Sorrow’s Joy; 
  3. Yejide Kilanko, Daughters Who Walk This Path
  4. Ifeoma Okoye, The Fourth World 
  5. Sefi Atta, A Bit of Difference
  6. Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Season of Crimson Blossoms
  7. Ifeoluwa Adeniyi, On the Bank of the River
  8. Elnathan John, Born On A Tuesday
  9. Aramide Segun, Eniitan Daughter of Destiny
  10. Maryam Awaisu, Burning Bright
  11. Mansim Chumah Okafor, The Parable of the Lost Shepherds. 

Nigeria LNG Limited will release a shortlist of three authors in September. Wherein the winner, if any, will be announced in October.

Past winners include Chika Unigwe, Sam Ukala, Tade Ipadeola, Adeleke Adeyemi, Ezenwa Ohaeto, Gabriel Okara, Dr. Ahmed Yerima, professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo, Mabel Segun, Kaine Agary, and the late Dr. Esiaba Irobi.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *