academic papersacademic researcharticlesEssaysFictionNon FictionPhotographyPoetryscholarly articlesSubmission Calls

Gerald Kraak Award

Jacana Literary Foundation and Other Foundation Gerald Kraak Award
Deadline: July 24, 2017

The Jacana Literary Foundation and the Other Foundation seek submissions to their 2017 Gerald Kraak Award. The award focuses on stories and photographies on gender, human rights and sexuality. To be eligible, you should be an African who lives and works in the continent. The first place prize winner receives R25,000.

Submit the following:

  • fiction,
  • non-fiction,
  • poetry
  • photography
  • journalism/magazine reporting
  • scholarly articles in academic journals and book chapters/extracts
  • social media/blog writings and contributions (which deal with the topics of gender, sexuality and/or human rights).

Submission Guidelines

Submit works written in English. Especially relevant, the 2016 Gerald Kraak Award’s judges seek works that tell a story or illustrates an idea. You can submit just one single image. However, you probably should submit a collection of photographs or a photographic essay.

Also, do not exceed 15,000 words or 10 images. You can submit up to three entries, across categories. However, each entry must be submitted on a separate electronic entry form. Also, submit a 100-word maximum biography and contact information. Do not include any identifying information on the work(s) you submit. The judges read the submissions blind. As such, applicants remain anonymous until the shortlist has been selected. Also note, the judging panel will select pieces which engage with gender and sexuality in ways that promote new insights into human rights matters.

The Gerald Kraak Award will not consider handwritten or hard copy entries. You must submit your applications via the online entry form at the bottom of the page. It will publish longlisted works in an anthology. Therefore, by applying, you provide the Gerald Kraak Award permission to publish your work. You won’t receive payment or royalty for getting published. Also, it will announce the shortlist in December and the top three winners at a 2018 award ceremony.

Finally, Jacana Media will co-publish with Africa World Press, Amalion, FEMRITE, Kwani, Weaver Press and Wordweaver.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *